Foundation FAQ – Beginner Beauty Series part 3

Recently I did a Foundation Do’s and Don’ts video which you can see here.

I also invite you to check out the playlist Beginner Beauty Series!

I thought I would share the links to some of the products I mentioned as well as some more in depth tips that I forgot or did not have time to mention in the video in a question v answer way.  So I hope that you enjoy and let me know some of your tips for foundation application as well.

First off, I thought I would share the list of different products that I used  You might be able to find them cheaper at local stores, but I thought I would still provide links if you decided you want to buy them off Amazon.

Products mentioned in the video are:
Powder Brush

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

Maybelline Dream Pure BB Cream

Maybelline Fit Me Matte and Poreless

Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous

Rimmel Stay Matte Mousse Foundation

Now we can move into the good stuff! I’m going to try to answer some questions that beginners may have. Keep in mind that I’m not a professional. I am simply someone that has dealt with the struggles of finding foundations and applying them being legally blind.

Does it matter what kind of skin I have? Why? How do I tell?

It matters because foundations are geared toward specific skin types. They usually say on the bottle for dry, combination, or oily.

When determining ski. type It helps to know what to look for. If you notice you are feeling greasy. Really greasy after about four hours washing your face then you might be oily. If there’s greasy forehead, nose, and chin (commonly called a T zone) yet dry cheeks then combination. If there’s dry patches on the face and not greasy but maybe even rough feeling then dry skin.

Do I need to use a moisturizer?

Yes! Even oily skin needs it because a lack of oil can make the skin produce even more. So at least a light moisturizer with SPF. That’s very important.

Do I need a primer? Why?

Yes you do. It’s not necessary all the time or all over the skin. However it is needed for keeping foundation from sinking into the fine lines or slipping around throughout the day. It is also great for filling in pores and that Kris foundation looking good longer. So after moisturizer a foundation primer is helpful. Now if your makeup is only needed a couple hours and that foundation has good staying power then a primer isn’t needed. You can also skip if used a good moisturizer and aren’t worried about pores or your makeup moving. For oily people I recommend a primer regardless. Combination can get away with primer only in the T zone and areas they get oily.

What kind of foundation is best for someone brand new to makeup?

I personally would recommend a tinted moisturizer or BB cream as those aren’t as full coverage. They look more natural on the skin usually. I go more in depth in my video.

What’s the difference in dewy and matte and natural foundations?

Dewy foundations are more hydrating and give off a glow in a way. There are some that have a formula that is meant to help you look glowing. This is best for dry skin. Oily can wear it for a bit but the staying power might not be as long as with a different formula over a mattifying primer.

Matte foundations are more shine free foundations. For those with oily skin this is ideal as it helps keep the oils at Bay longer. Dry skin can wear it however a good moisturizer and hydrating primer is needed to keep it looking good for as long as possible.

Some foundations may say natural finish. This isn’t necessarily completely shine free but not dewy either. It’s a happy medium. These usually will work on all skin depending on whether the right primer is used. 

How do I find my right shade of foundation?

The easiest way for some may be to ask someone with good vision to help them choose at the store. However not all of us are that lucky. Some stores have testers to find a shade of a foundation. That will work too if you are able to see it.

If you are like me and can’t get to those stores with a friend or family member then there is still hope. You can use a shade you know works to find other shades. Some makeup counters like Mac will help match your skin tone. If you’ve been given foundation by someone that you’ve been told works or  they used some that worked you can always ask them for shades and beans. Once you have that information you can go online to http://www.findation.com to find shades that may match you. The more you know works the better they can help. I’ll share my list of foundations below so you see what all I put in.

How do I put it on and where?

For me I tend to do any number of ways. It all depends on whether you want to use your fingers or not. I highly recommend using them as it’s easier to start out at least this way.

First get some on the back of your non dominant hand. You can start out with a little amount like a nickel then add more if needed. Dip your finger in there and dot it all over your face. I tend to do two or three on my forehead, one on my nose, two or three on each cheek, one on my chin, and use the rest to dot on my jaw line and under the chin area. Then you can rub it in using your fingers smoothing all over. I start at my forehead and work down. This allows me to spread it all. I then will take it down on the neck usually just a little bit. At most half way. You can put it on your ears and further down the neck if don’t know if it matches just right.

Can I use a sponge or brush?

Yes! You are the artist! Personally I like my real techniques sponge. That works best for me. I simply wet it and then use it after I dot my foundation on. I sometimes use it to dot and blend both. I don’t recommend the triangle sponges or diamond as they don’t expand like the other and may soak up the makeup. Would you like to see a side by side of those two sponges applying makeup? Let me know in the comments. Brushes can be used in a similar way.

Do I have to set my foundation?

It all comes down to how long it’s needed and skin type. If I need it to last six plus hours then I’ll double set it with powder and setting spray. I have combination skin. If I only need it a couple hours I might not set it at all. I recommend setting for those with oily skin. Dry skin it can still help to keep the makeup from moving. Just very light setting with powder or skip the powder and use a setting spray.

What is a setting spray good for?

They help lock makeup on place while taking away the powdery look. It can also help those with dry skin add hydration if it’s a dewy one. It can help remove the cakey look as well.
Foundation shades

I thought I’d list all my foundation shades for you organized by brand.

Almay

  • Almay Smart Shade Medium

Covergirl

  • Clean Whipped Makeup – Classic Beige
  • Clean Liquid Makeup – Classic Beige
  • CoverGirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation – Creamy Beige 850
  • CoverGirl Clean Matte BB Cream – Medium

ELF

  • e.l.f. (eyes. lips. face) Studio Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 – Sand

L’Oreal

  • L’Oreal Paris True Match Superblendable Compact Makeup – N5 True Beige
  • L’Oreal Magic Skin Beautifier BB cream- Medium
  • L’Oreal Paris Magic Nude Liquid Powder – 326 True Beige

Maybelline

  • Maybelline Fit Me Foundation – 220 Natural Beige
  • Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless – 220 Natural Beige
  • Maybelline Dream Pure BB Cream – Medium

NYX

  • NYX STAY MATTE BUT NOT FLAT POWDER FOUNDATION – Nude
  • NYX STAY MATTE BUT NOT FLAT Foundation – Nude

Revlon

  • Revlon Age Defying (for Dry Skin) – Golden Beige
  • Revlon Age Defying (for All Skin Types) – Golden Beige
  • Revlon ColorStay Mineral Mousse – 070 Medium Deep
  • Revlon ColorStay Makeup For Combo/Oily Skin – Golden Beige

RIMMEL

  • RIMMEL Stay Matte Foundation – classic beige
  • RIMMEL BB Cream 9-in-1 Skin Perfecting Super Makeup – Medium
  • RIMMEL lasting finish 25 hour foundation with comfort serum – Classic Beige
  • RIMMEL stay matte liquid mousse foundation – Classic Beige

Did you like this style of post? Would you like to see more FAQ for other areas of beauty? What are some questions you have? You can comment your answers or contact me personally.

Leave a Reply

