Skin Care – Beginner Beauty Series pt 1

PicsArt_03-09-11.28.13

Today I thought I would go into a little more detail and clarify the skin care process for those of you that might be new to anti aging products or skin care in general.  This is the first in a series for beginners! I am not a pro by any means.  I go by research and experience.I posted my YouTube video about Skin care just a little while ago.  That may be kind of confusing as to what goes in what order and when.  So I am going to break it down more here and give an example day for me when I am not feeling lazy (which if you saw my 7 Deadly Sins of Beauty video you know I do have lazy skin care days).

I clean my face with that wash and usually a face sponge I got at the dollar tree.  Now sometimes if I am having a bad acne day I may use a brush, but not always.  Brushes can be harsh but they also really get into the pores more than just a sponge or rag will.  The brush I use is a simple brush that I bought at the dollar tree.  It is not an electric one.  It works beautifully for me on days that I am going to be home and not worried about whether my skin is a little irritated or sensitive because of the brush.  If a brush is used, I recommend using a cream cleanser like Cetaphil or something for sensitive skin as it can be pretty harsh especially at first.  I don’t, but I am used to having rosy skin the couple of times a week I o use the brush.

After I clean my face I tend to reach for a toner.  I feel a toner just ensures I got it good and clean as well as adds balance to the skin.  I will use the deep clean one if I am taking my own sweet time.  I pour it on a cotton pad and dab it all over my face.  If I am in a hurry though, I spritz my Hydrafresh toner on my face that I mentioned earlier and wipe it off with toilet paper or a cotton pad.  Sometimes if I am confident it is good and clean I will spritz my face and not wipe it at all.  I especially do this if I am feeling it is extra dry.  It seems to help with the moisture before I add actual moisturizer.

After the face is good and balanced, I tend to reach for my moisturizer. In the morning I tend to reach more for the dual action oil free one that I mention or I combine the oil free and the equate all day one.  It depends on my skin and how dry it is feeling.  Moisturizer is VERY important as skin may produce extra oil when it is feeling dried out just to give some back to itself.  So stripping it of oil altogether is not the answer.  I di not learn this until I was in my 30s.  I don’t recommend waiting that long.

That is the main parts of skin care.  Now as far as maintenance goes, masks are a great thing.  I have heard of some people doing nightly masks.  I do not do that as I do not want to overwhelm my skin.  I do one roughly one to three times a week depending on whether I am testing out a new mask (like I am now) or not.  The masks can really give a deep clean.  However some very deep cleaning masks don’t recommend using them before using makeup.  I have heard that it is a no-no to wear makeup after a deep cleansing facial anyhow.  I prefer the ones I peel off or rinse off as they seem to do more than the paper masks, but paper masks are very re-hydrating so I do use those when I am feeling very dry.

What are some of your tips for skin care?  Do you have a regular skin care routine? Next up in the series will be a Beginner Makeup kit.  That will be up next week! What would you like to see?

Leave a Reply

