L’Oréal Detox and Brighten Clay mask

Snapshot 2 (3-6-2017 6-23 PM)

This is the L’Oréal Charcoal and clay mask that detoxes and brightens.  I invite you to check out this post for an in depth review of the mask and my thoughts on it.  You can slo see a first impressions video as well by watching my video on YouTube! It retails for about $10 roughly.  It could be more or less depending on where you get it.

First off, let’s get the nitty gritty out of the way.  I was sent this mask by BzzAgent to review and spread bzz about.  However, you are going to get my honest opinion and thoughts.  Just because I get something free does not mean I’ll be any less honest about it.

Packaging

Snapshot 1 (3-6-2017 6-21 PM).png

The jar was nicely packaged although it was not visually impaired friendly.  I will say that the writing for the instructions was better than the rest of the box though.  So I ended up going to the website to see what the claims were instead of reading them on the box.  That is a drawback as there is not as much on the site as there appears to be on the box.  It is rather difficult to read because of the coloring and low contrast.

The jar itself  was very nice and a good amount was in the jar.  I have used it three times so far so I could give you this review and I still have about half of it left to do another three.  So roughly you’ll get about two weeks use out of it if used three times a week as it recommends which can become rather expensive honestly.

The little seal at the top doesn’t really do its job as if the jar does get tipped over after initial opening the mask will spill into the lid some so there is not that great of a seal.  I noticed this when opening another mask initially as well.

Application

Why don’t we look at the application of it before we do anything else?  You can view the application and unboxing of it by visiting my YouTube video.


The website gives the following directions:

Apply an even layer to clean dry skin, avoiding eye and lip area. Leave on for 10 to 15 minutes then remove with water. For best results use 3 times a week.

AQUA / WATER, KAOLIN, MONTMORILLONITE, LECITHIN, POLYSORBATE 20, BUTYLENE, GLYCOL PROPYLENE, GLYCOL, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES, ORYZA, SATIVA STARCH / RICE STARCH, MOROCCAN LAVA CLAY, CHARCOAL POWDER, C

Snapshot 5 (3-6-2017 6-25 PM).png

Now as I applied this to my face there was not really a feeling associated with it such as cooling or soothing.  It felt like a gel kinda as I put it on.  That is not a bad thing, but I do prefer those that have a cooling or soothing feeling as I apply them.  This did not.

It also did not really give much time to get it evenly distributed before it started drying on me.  That does cut down on the time needed to wait, but it doesn’t allow for a thinner application.  When I tried to do a thicker application over what was already drying it felt really rough and difficult to smooth out.  I tried to do that on my third use.  The second time I tried to do a thin layer to see if it made any more or less of a difference.  I will discuss this further in a moment.

Removal

Snapshot 4 (3-6-2017 6-24 PM).png

With some masks removal is so easy.  It is as simple as wetting a wash rag and wiping it off.  With this mask… it is not that simple.  It really takes some harsh scrubbing to get it off.  It depends on how thick the mask is how much of it, but I had to do a lot of scrubbing if I used a wash cloth.  I did it solely with a wash cloth the first time, but split it between a rag and a facial sponge I picked up at the dollar tree that has both an exfoliating and a smooth side.  The smooth side seemed to get the mask off faster and easier than the washrag did.  I even tried using a microfiber rag as I thought the smoothness was an issue.  It was not.  So that sponge seems to be the way to go with this as it would be less damaging to the skin as it isn’t good to rub too hard.

Even though I had to really work to get it off, I did not notice redness.  However, being visually impaired I do not always see redness as well as other people do.  I do not like having to scrub as hard as I had to though with the washrag to remove the entire mask.

Results

2017-06-3--21-01-40.jpeg

So we are going to see what their website claims this mask does and I will share with you whether I agree with it.  The site said:

“Transform Skin in Just 10 Minutes. 3 Pure Clays and Charcoal. For Dull and Tired-looking Skin.

Indulgent. Transformative. Perfectly Clean. L’Oréal Paris Skin Experts have created a super-charged pure clay mask with the power and benefits of Charcoal to detoxify and illuminate your skin in just 10 minutes. Our indulgent and powerful formula for this detox face mask provides a luxurious experience while potent pure clays and charcoal act like a magnet to clean out pores and draw-out and capture deep impurities (such as dirt, oil, and pollution). This creamy, non-drying formula leaves skin feeling clean, velvety, and rebalanced. Detox and Brighten Pure-Clay Mask addresses your dull, tired skin to reveal a purified, even, and radiant complexion. Immediately, skin looks brighter with a healthy glow. Deep pore cleansing–dirt, dust and pollution are removed from skin. Skin’s complexion looks fresher and more even. Use After Use, skin is clean as if detoxified. Skin feels as though it can breathe better. Skin is healthy looking and more beautiful.”

This is somewhat true, but not all of it was for me.  I did notice that there was a luminosity or glow to my skin that was not there before.  However, that luminosity that was a clean luminosity turned into an oil slick after a few hours.  I was more oily after about 6 hours without makeup than I was normally when I do not do a mask.  That is not really a good thing when I have combination skin.  These are supposed to be for all skin types.  I think this one might be better for those dry skin people out there.  It didn’t balance my skin either as this would make me produce more oil whether with a moisturizer, with an oil free moisturizer, or without moisturizer.  I tried it all three ways.

This mask did detox my skin possibly though.  However, there are other cheaper masks albeit more painful masks out there that seem to do a better job at detox and brightening.  I am happy to do a review on that product if you would like.

My face felt so tight while it was on and after taking it off the tightness remained for a while unless I heavily moisturized.  That is a good feeling for me so that is a good thing.  However, I wouldn’t go so far as to say the feeling was luxurious or spa like.  As I stated above, since there was not a soothing feeling  there is not much to the wearing of the mask for me.

Conclusion

Even though I found this mask to be difficult to remove and that I became very oily after a few hours, I did enjoy it.  I like the tight feeling of my skin after I take it off.  I recommend it for dry skin, but I don’t recommend it for oily.  Combination skin can use it, but there may be excess oil after a few hours.  Using three times in a week really didn’t do much as far as I can tell if anything so just using it once a week or every so often might be ok.

Please subscribe to my channel and this blog to see the other two masks reviewed as well as a roundup of all three comparing them once I am done!

Leave a Reply

